Young people are often influenced by their peers

Adolescents are usually guided to make decisions by their age-mates. The positive effects of peer pressure outweigh the advantages because, the youth usually motivate each other in doing activities they love to do moreover, peer groups tend to give a sense of belonging and increases a sense of confidence. On the contrary, peer pressure may lead to harmful and distractive behaviours and may also lead distraction from school work. Peer pressure motivates young adults to do activities they would not imagined to do. For instance, joining clubs like chess clubs and book clubs.  These activities can actually help in decision making regarding career pathways. Most young adults tend to copy each other, in a good way. For example, if one in the group is saving for car can motivate the others to do so, which turns out to be beneficial to most of them. Peer groups provide a sense of belonging and support outside their family backgrounds.  A number of young adults struggle with things that they can not discuss with their families and would prefer discussing with friends. These groups then give support and reassurance. For instance, a young adult having difficulty with identifying with sexuality may get support and reassurance from the age-mates with the desired sexuality. On the other hand,  peer pressure may lead to harmful and dangerous behaviours like, substance abuse. Such a habit may be difficult to get out of and may lead to addiction and even death in serious situations.  Moreover,   peer pressure may distract from school work. Most young adults tend to have hobbies that give them instant gratification and blind their future. For example, a peer group can easily convince each other to skip school at least twice a week. In conclusion, peer pressure has  positive effects to the youth, they have a sense of belonging and great support from their age-mates. They are easily motivated to engage in positive decisions for their future. However, it can lead to dangerous habits and distraction from school.