Young adults show different patterns of behavior when they have to decide whether to continue to live with their family or not.

Young adults show different patterns of behavior when they have to decide whether to continue to live with their family or not. For instance, in the United States, young adults prefer to live separated from their parents as soon as possible. This tendency reflects wises of freedom and independence. Although this behavior has remarkable advantages and disadvantages, the advantage can overwhelm the negative effects. It is important to recognize that living separated from parents or family can be riskier than living with them. many young adults are victims of group pressure and gangs because of their parent's absence. However, a significant advantage of living by oneself is that people develop leadership skills. Individuals that live by themselves learn to do and sustain their own decisions. On the contrary, people who live with their parents are shyer and less confident. For instance, many of the greatest world leaders are or have been people that were separated from their parents when they were kids. Another advantage of living independently is that people can fully develop their creative potential. When people are forced into difficult situations, they can surprise us with outstanding abilities and values that otherwise remained hidden. A good example is blind people, these people show a remarkable ability for art and music. In a similar way, when parents are absent or too away for help, individuals manage to survive and be successful.