Young adults are now choosing to wait until later in life, often until they are in their 30s, to settle down and get married. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

People in their early 20's are now deciding to stay single until they are near or over the age of thirty. This essay first suggests that unbiased focus on the professional career is the primary benefit, while a higher probability of separation is the main drawback. The main advantage of staying unmarried until later in life is that men and women can completely focus on building their careers. That is to say, a successful career demands time and attention, and if people get married in their early life, they will have responsibilities to fulfil, which could distract them from work. Therefore, people who are not married can dedicatedly strive to achieve heights in their respective fields. For instance, as per a recent government survey, single young adults are 25% more successful in their professions than the people who are married in their 20's. The prime drawback of choosing not to get married until the age of 30 or over is that it enhances the chances of divorce. That is to say, people who are already thirty are quite mature, which makes it difficult for them to adjust and live with another person. They have their own comfort zones and compromises are unacceptable, which leads to friction in marriages and ultimately results in separation. For example, as per the statistics of the Indian government, the divorce cases among people who married in their late 30's is 20% more than those get settled in their late 20's. In conclusion, the prime advantage is that men and women in their early 20's can build successful careers by staying single until later in life, but the increased chances of divorce is the major disadvantage.