young adults are choosing to study and live outside their parent's home. Is this a positive or a negative trend

In today's western culture, young adults or specifically undergraduates tend to live their life on their own without any parent's help. In my view, this is a positive trend which we will discuss here. One of the major positive impacts on an adult who lives outside of their parent's house would be independence. An individual who studies and lives on their own possess the power to make their own decisions. They have not relied on their parents in any respect. Another boon would be a sense of realization of the smaller struggles of life. From preparing food to washing clothes, the student has to do all his personal chores and will be able to understand every struggle associated with it which would be helpful in the long run. Furthermore, people who move out of their parent's homes build a greater appreciation and respect for their parents. During their journey of independence, they would realize how much their parents struggled and worked for them right from their birth. These young adults would also develop better social skills since the student is going to live on his own, he or she would require occasional help or assistance from people like neighbours, classmates, colleagues etc. Briefly, moving out from parent's house and living on their own offers a great deal of experiences like independence, realization of struggles, appreciation and development of social skills which would benefit an individual throughout their life. I believe that students must live on their own at least once during their study life span to experience such greater advantages