You are helping to select a leader for a student organization or a group. Do you think a person's honesty is the most important characteristic for being a leader?

It is a generally accepted fact that having a good characteristic is of paramount importance for a comfortable and fulfilling life; in fact, so viable can one's characteristic be that most of the efforts people make from childhood until old ages is often dedicated to cultivating good characteristics in themselves. During lifetime of each person and based on individual's duties some characteristics have greater impact on their life and future. In this case, some controversy arises as to what is the most important characteristic for someone who is elected as a leader for a group. There are many people who contend that honesty is considered as the most crucial attribute for a leader. I personally concur with this idea. The rationale behind this thesis will be investigated through two reason in what follows. The first exquisite point to be mentioned is that honesty as one of the most salient characteristic of leader fortifies the relationship. Without a shadow of doubt being leader in any group from small scale to large ones is an arduous task. Group members by team-working provide the opportunity for leader and whole team to reach their goals in an efficient way. Team-working as a crucial factor comes from trusting to each other. From a psychological point of view some characteristics such as honesty may lead to people trust to each other. When leader be honest with team members, she could make a good relationship with them and they will support each other in even hard conditions. For instance, about 5 years ago, I worked in a big company. Our company confronted with economic recession and our budget was limit. Our manager talked with us and explained the situation honestly. I and some of my colleagues decided to be with our manager and helped him to rectify the problem. We could increase the budget of company by team-working and trust to each other. Thus, honesty will result in people trust each other and have a good relationship. Second, should leader be honest with team members, the chance of being successful will increase. In today's competitive world, having a good leader plays a prominent role in human being's success. Super scale companies strive to cultivate not only a brilliant employee but also good leaders. Good leaders guaranty the success of company. Even some great authors in their books mention a rule of thumb: "Being honest in any situation even conditions are against you. Life is too short to waste your time by telling lie to people". For being successful in competition with other companies, leader should be honest with team members and explain the difficulties of roadmap. If team members are aware of every situation, they will make a right decision to reach their goals. According to a recently conducted study at university of Texas, over eighty percent of large scale companies hire honest leader. This clearly shows that honesty is considered as a key factor for companies and they believe that they reached their goals with honest leaders. Having analyzed the aforementioned ideas and reasoning, one can safely surmise that honesty is considered as the most important characteristic of leader. This is because not only does honesty fortify the relationship but also it increases the chance of being successful too. Thus, let us hope that whole teams have a leader with salient characteristics.