AUTO RACING IS A SPORT OR NOT

Auto racing is a sport which includes NASCAR, Formula 1, Indycar, and more. Whether Auto racing is a sport or not is a very controversial issue. Some people argue that auto racing can never be classified as a sport. However, I totally disagree with this argument. In my opinion, auto racing should be classified as a sport for two main reasons. The first reason why auto racing should be classified as a sport is it demands a tremendous amount of physical fitness. The reflex level of a racer must be really high. To develop this reflex level, a racer must improve his/her physical skills. In addition, racers’ have trainers who help them in improving their physical attributes. The second reason why auto racing should be classified as a sport is it requires endurance. A race approximately takes two or three hours, and it requires a great deal of effort. As a consequence of it, a racer must have a high level of endurance to race. For having a high level of endurance, racers work on gym and improve their physical attributes. Those who disagree argue that it does not require as much effort. I do not agree with this argument. Driving a race car is really different from driving a normal car; it requires too much effort. Furthermore, according to studies, a racer gives approximately three or four kilos in a race because of the effort and the heat. Therefore, we can definitely say that auto racing is one of the most tiring sports in the World. To sum up, I strongly believe that auto racing should be classified as a sport because it demands a tremendous amount of physical fitness and requires endurance. Also, I hope that the number of people who think auto racing is a sport will increase.