Sending space crafts and astronauts into space is very expensive. It would be of greater value for the government to use the money spent on space exploration (long term) to improve the quality of life on Earth (immediate need).

Exploring space is known to demand considerable financial resources, which could be otherwise allocated to address some pressing social needs on earth. In my opinion, budgeting is a complex process which demands meeting both urgent and long term issues to ensure not only today’s well-being, but also to secure the future. Space exploration in addition to showing a nation’s scientific strength, drives innovations that not only facilitate survival in the harsh space environment but also make life on Earth better in the long run. It is the space industry that has encouraged the development of numerous state-of-the-art technologies, which have been integrated in people’s daily life, simplifying and improving it. Example, Were it not for exploring the universe, such innovative products as wireless devices, medical scans and other life-saving technologies would not have been invented. Even though such developments demand significant funding, it has benefitted humankind through aiding prevention and diagnosis which is of paramount importance for saving countless lives. On the other hand, it is the government’s responsibility to ensure citizens well-being today through meticulous prioritizing for the budget process to ensure that numerous pressing issues are addressed. As a direct result of innovations driven by the space industry, many additional ways are now available. For example, solar energy which is one of such inventions is able to bring affordable renewable energy, even in the remotest of areas and at the same time alleviates damage to the environment. Hence, both short-term and long-term budget items such as space exploration should be funded in parallel to to ensure current well-being along with catering for future needs. In conclusion, i strongly believe(clear position) that investment in space exploration should continue to be funded by countries that can afford it, in parallel to addressing their specific country's immediate concerns. As is being increasingly understood, the effects of a problem in one area permeates throughout the world. Therefore, such innovations are of tremendous importance for all.