Xenophobia has accelerated rapidly in the Western countries. According to you, what solutions can be proposed by the government and individuals?

Xenophobia or the fear of strangers is a widespread issue in developed countries. Such phobias by citizens of a country could derail its economic development and thus it is imperative to closely examine the causes and suggest actions to curb this problem. This essay discusses both in the forthcoming paragraphs. The most widespread reason for xenophobia in the western world is the tsunami of immigrants that enter every year from developing countries. Citizens fear that these immigrants might take away their jobs or enter politics to amend policies unfavourable to them. Moreover, with such an influx of people, there a feeling that it would put more pressure on the country’s resources and ultimately lower the standard of living. This is very illustrated in the point that whenever the US publishes its unemployment data, there is always a section of society that begins protests against the government and its open-door policies. However, a few steps can be taken by to curb this problem. Firstly, the government should run awareness programs on how foreigners coming into the country actually bring in additional skills which would ultimately mean more jobs and opportunities for its citizens. Secondly, at an individual of the country need to be encouraged to show more acceptance and display open mindedness towards people from foreign lands. To conclude, in today’s globalised world where people need to move and settle in different nations, xenophobia could be a big dampener. Although, this problem cannot be solved immediately, certain measures can be taken to make the situation better.