Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests

Sharing personal information with employers on hobbies and marital status sometimes puts the employees in a tough spot. Although, such additional knowledge helps to bring in more transparency and openness, some people do not find this information sharing useful. Both views will be discussed in the forthcoming paragraphs. Some employers prefer working with like minded people and hence are seeking employees with whom they can talk and share views apart from work. The underlying thought is that an understanding of someone’s interests and leisure time activities helps to build a better understanding of what drives them and keeps them motivated. A recent study indicated that satisfied employees working for the same organization for more than 5 years had been very open talking about their hobbies and tend to enjoy coming to office. Another school of thought is that employees are hired to do the work as required by the role and there is no room for personal interests and background details in such a professional setup. Some people might not be comfortable sharing details outside of education and experience as it might lead to social labelling or unnecessary interference by the employer or by colleagues at the office. For example, many women prefer not to mention their marital status to avoid giving an impression that family responsibilities might be a hinderance in their job. In conclusion, I believe it is fair to ask for personal information about potential employees where they need to be more creative and work as a team. This helps them to settle in quickly in the role and get comfortable with the company culture. At the same time, it is a personal choice of the employee whether to disclose or not and how much information to share.