#Writing #Task2 Many Australians feel that the government should keep the borders completely closed to internationals. Others feel that this approach is overly cautious.

Some Australians think that the borders should be kept closed to people from other countries, whereas others disagree. Although keeping the borders closed would be the safest approach, I believe that in some situations, opening the borders is the best option. It is true that closing the borders is a reasonable choice. If Australia opens its borders completely, it is likely that the virus will enter the country and start spreading throughout the community. As has been shown around the world, this would result in the needless death of many people. In addition, if the virus spreads around the country, federal, state and local governments may have to introduce lockdowns to prevent further community transmission. These lockdowns do considerable damage to small businesses, people’s mental health and the economy generally. However, I think that in some situations, the borders should remain open. Evidence from around the word is showing that vaccines are extremely effective at preventing not only serious illness, but also transmission of the virus. In other words, a vaccinated person is unlikely to spread the virus and should be let in. Furthermore, there are many countries that are not significantly affected by the virus, so it makes sense to open the borders to these countries in particular. For example, Australia has opened a ‘travel bubble’ with New Zealand that has so far proven safe. In conclusion, while taking a zero-risk policy certainly has merit, I would argue that in some specific cases, it is appropriate to open the borders.