Writing Task 2 This task should be completed within 40 minutes. “In an age where streaming services make it easy to choose from an inexhaustible collection of movies and television programmes, on a high-end entertainment system and in the comfort of your living room: the act of going to a cinema to watch a movie will soon be a thing of the past. It is only a matter of time before people stop ‘going to the movies’ and the cinema industry shuts down for good. ” with the above prediction? Write an essay discussing why it may or may not come true, making sure to support your argument with clear reasoning and examples.

Throughout the years streaming services has more variative offering extensive collection of movies and tv show which can be enjoyed at the comfort of our own home. Some people predict that the advancement of streaming services mean less and less people will go to the cinema to watch movies therefore the cinema industry will shut down. In this essay I will explain my opinion why I disagree with this prediction and provide the reason why. While it is true that streaming services have provided more collection of movies and television programmes for their audience that does not means the content made have a good quality that could rival the qualities of movie produced for the cinema. Streaming services has a lot of content to watch because they produced a lot of movies and tv shows of their own for example netflix originals, hulu originals, mola tv and many others. Although the content they produced are numerous it is often critized for the low quality due to the requirement to produce as much content for the streaming services. On the contrary movies that are produced in cinema does not have the rush to produce as much content as possible. in result the quality are much better. Most people prefers quality than quantity they will choose to watch a movie in a cinema if it have a better quality. In my opinion going the cinema is the experience in itself, there are movies in cinema that are also available in streaming services but people also go to the cinema to experience something that they do not get while watching a movie in their home. For example people go to the movie because the screen is much bigger there and the sound quality in cinema is better than in their home or that the atmosphere at the cinema make it so that people enjoyed the cinema more. in conclusion, while streaming services make it easy for people to watch something in the comfort of their own home, I think that the prediction of streaming service shutting down the cinema industry is not true. Although streaming services provide more content, the quality of the content are not always good furthermore I think that going to the cinema is the experience in itself so people will still go the cinema to enjoy the movie fully.