The Causes of High Stress among College Students

Nowadays the number of university students under the pressure is constantly growing. They have to fact some stressful situations when they attend university. The purpose of this essay is to discuss the factors responsible for high stress in community college students. The first cause of stress among university students is university academic programs. The fact that the students must complete lots of homework, such as preparing a presentation, review the previous lessons or doing assignments. In addition, they will finish and submit three to four assignments at the same time. Many students failed the exam and retake the exam or study again. If they can not control their time, it will be difficult to prepare and submit the assignments on time. Moreover, trying to get high scores and a nice college degree which also put college students under the pressure. As a result, most college students look stressed because of studying in College. The other reason that can be responsible for stress is some problems related to financial burden. Studying at the university require a lot of money to pay tuition fees, buy text books, school uniforms. It is difficult for some students who live in a big cities because of paying house rent, electric bill, etc. Moreover, they also need money on hanging out with friends, signing up for some classes, clubs. Another factor that can lead to stress of college students can be a part time job. Some students especially freshmen will find it is very difficult to have a suitable job because of lack of time and experience. Sometimes, they must make a decision about choosing a job related to their field to support the study or other work such as: bartender, cashier, promotion girl. Furthermore, balancing between part time job and study time is also difficult for most students due to changing schedule, internship. Additionally, they usually work for a long time even a full day because a low-paying job. The final reason that make the students fell stress is the bad habits. Young people tend to sleep late to do homework, play games and wake up late at the morning. Not only sleeping late but also skipping breakfast has become a habit of some students. Another bad habit of the students is not exercising regularly. As a result, those habits put a lot of pressure on them. In conclusion, stress is a serious problem that most students have to deal with in college life. It’s mainly caused by university academic programs, financial burden, part time jobs and the bad habits.