Writing Task 2: Some people believe young people are more attracted to fashion and it causes negative aspects to themselves and society.

It is often asserted that the latest fashion trends are more followed by teenagers, and a few people perceive this has detrimental effects on them and society as a whole. Despite being unacceptable to a section of society, I vehemently agree with the notion and believe that their desire for the latest fashion would put undue pressure on parent’s budget, and society as a whole lose its norms and values. To begin with, the young generation sometimes went crazy about the latest fashion. This is to say, they think that all modern gadgets and dresses must be purchased by their parent. This is because of massive scale celebrity-endorsed advertisements which focusses young people to buy their luxurious products. For instance, according to the BBC survey report, the average Pakistani family cannot afford Apple’s products; however, young people in Pakistan force their parents every year to buy the latest Apple smartphone. This is because it is considered a fashion symbol. Therefore, people at a young age buy products just to show off and look cool in front of people; all this has detrimental effects on their way of thinking. Notwithstanding the view that progress in today’s era is only possible if young people have the latest products, their role in spoiling society as a whole by lucrative adverts that brainwash children’s mind to buy expensive items to satisfy their ego, is it possible to ignore this? If everyone wishes to purchase modern fashion items it would certainly difficult for some to bear the cost. So, some people would follow the wrong ways to fulfill their desires. Take an example of the United States, where 20 percent of school and college-going students often sell drugs to buys expensive shoes and new dresses. Thus, this fast fashion drives youth to commit crimes. In conclusion, although keeping yourself up to date is not a bad thing, I staunchly opine that following it blindly and forcing parents or committing crimes to meet the latest fashion’s demands would eventually destroy society and a person’s life.