write statement of intent to show independent reserach

It was daunting to commence the trend of undergraduate research at my college. Additionally, I had to handle my extracurricular activities, teach the classes I provided to the local children for free, and above all, keep my grades up in the courses. Since I had to figure out my research proposal, after extensive research, I came across several Astronomy courses on Coursera which convinced me that planetary science was the right fit for me. I formed the habit of making notes and sticking them to the things I used the most. Initially aimless, I learned to manage my schedule by planning ahead and keeping track of my goals. Consequently, I was able to learn LaTeX, use astronomical data archives, collect data of planetary systems for my project which I was working on with my college mentor Dr. Varinderjit Kaur, attend several conferences and co-author several papers too—all independently. At UBC, I plan to follow the same methodology. Being a foresightful person, I tend to be more efficient in completing a project by reading enough literature, thoroughly understanding the topic, keeping enough room for changes, and self-imposing a deadline to avoid procrastination.