Many people argue that the Olympic Games have significant benefits for the host country while others believe they are a waste of money. Discuss both sides and give your opinion

The Olympic Games are a famous sporting event held every four years, and thousands of athletes from different countries participate. Thus, leading up to the event, there is significant preparation to be done by the host country. Although this preparation is expensive, I believe that overall, the Olympic Games are beneficial for the host country. It is true that the host country of the Olympic Games must spend a large amount of money organising the event. For example, they must have facilities for the many and varied sporting events such as rowing, athletics and gymnastics. This often means spending large amounts of money on construction and renovation. The Olympics also draws many spectators to the host country which means money must also be spent to provide adequate accommodation, food, and public transport for these visitors. Nevertheless, the benefits of the Olympic Games for the host country far outweigh these costs. The construction and renovation of sports facilities, public transport, and the development of the hospitality industry promotes tourism in the host country during and after the games. The long-term financial benefits of this boost in tourism mean that the initial cost is a highly worthwhile investment. In addition, the organisation of the event requires a large number of additional human resources, with a variety of skills. Thus, hosting the Olympic Games creates new jobs for local people. In conclusion, even though there are high costs associated with the lead-up to hosting the Olympic Games, it is still beneficial for the host country both in the short-term and long-term as it promotes tourism and provides jobs for local people.