Some people think that in the coming future traditional manner of writing letters will be gone because of digital media. What are the advantages and disadvantages of digital modes of communication?

There are multiple benefits of using digital modes of communication. The first and foremost advantage of this is the ease with which individuals can connect with each other digitally in no time. To elaborate, sitting at one spot, it is possible to deliver message to anybody around the globe in less than a minute. For example, e-mails can carry loads of information in form of files from one location to the other in the matter of a click. Another reason of giving preference to online communication is that it is more environment friendly than the traditional modes of communication as it requires no usage of paper which prevents deforestation in a long run. For instance, there has been a noticeable decrease in the cutting down of trees since when communication has moved to online modes. Despite having so many benefits, communicating virtually has its own drawbacks as well. Firstly, it makes individuals socially repulsiveas one gets used to talking to others only online. This, further, leads to problems like social anxiety and lack of confidence. For instance, it has been noted that children who are used to connecting around using gadgets find it hard to be a part of social gatherings. More so, while communicating online, it is impossible to acquire certain soft skills which are necessary in everyday life since it lacks human to human interaction. For example, it is very common for people to wear informal clothes while attending online official meetings. In conclusion, it is evident that digital manner of communication has taken over the traditional ways. It has both benefits and drawbacks. In my opinion, the advantages of clearly outweigh the disadvantages. The utilisation of virtual communication should be done in such a way that a balance can be arrived at.