Write and easy on why you chose your profession as a family medicine physician

"She had an ischemic stroke, " the physician informed us calmly while looking into my mother's CT Scan. I tried to absorb this news with teary eyes, seeing my mother across the window with multiple monitors attached to her. On that day, my scholarly interests collided abruptly with my personal life. I was now a working Physician and, at the same time, a caregiver to my mother with stroke. I developed my interest in medicine from the early school days, but my personal experiences solidified my passion for family medicine as a caregiver to my bedridden mother, which put my Obstetrics and Gynecology post-graduation on hold. Later, we had countless visits with her family physician, whose compassion, counseling, and continuous support on every visit profoundly affected me and heavily influenced my decision to pursue a residency in family medicine. Determined to persevere, I immigrated to Canada and started my master's degree in eHealth while recovering from the recent loss of my beloved parents, as unfortunately, I also lost my father only a few days after my mother's death. By refusing to let my losses dictate my goals, I finished my master's degree and successfully completed my Medical Council of Canada exams by achieving 2 SD above the passing scores. My experience showed me the transformative power of determination when faced with adversity and the value of integrity and character that goes beyond the workplace. My journey challenged me to confront my difficulties and find value and confidence through persevering. I am hopeful to use my experience to relate to patients in ways others may not be able to. I fully appreciate the importance of collaboration, quality enhancement, and change management in the Canadian Healthcare System, as evidenced by years of working in quality improvement and clinical transformation projects with physicians, nurses, administrators, and allied health professionals in hospitals and community care settings. Exceptional family medicine physicians also communicate well with their patients and build a strong doctor-patient relationship; my role as an EMR specialist, research intervention coordinator, and my previous practice as a general practitioner with multicultural patients exemplify my capacity to communicate and counsel patients of all ages. My work in the Canadian informatics field, leadership roles in the quality and safety committees, and research experiences align my future goals with the family medicine program to bring continuous innovation, quality care, and research in the clinical field. I seek a program that will provide unparalleled opportunities for well-rounded training to advance my clinical and communication skills. The family medicine residency program at the University of Toronto would undoubtedly enable me to become a physician who understands community needs through compassion and thrives as an integral team member. As a future family medicine physician, I plan to continue my involvement in academic research, patient-centered care, and medical innovation. My intense self-reflection, resilience, and experiences solidified my decision to pursue a residency in family medicine, and I am ready to take on the challenges that come with it.