Nowadays, the number of obese children is increasing at an alarming rate. What are some of the causes of this increase and what is effects?

In recent years, the number of children who get obesity is increasing at an unprecedented level. While lifestyle issues - too many calories from food and drinks and too little activity among children will be responsible for this issue, it might have negative effects on their health and a society with obese children. Some reasons that lead to obesity among children. The first cause is that an unhealthy diet is one of the potential causes of weight gain in children. In fact, many children are more likely to consume high-calorie foods such as junk foods and sugary beverages that are rich in fat, addictive chemicals, and artificial sweeteners, which contributes to childhood obesity. Another cause is that too much time spent in sedentary activities results in the obesity problem in children. In other words, nowadays children who are too lazy to take part in physical activities or exercises, instead tend to find it comfortable to enjoy activities that don’t take too much energy rather than body burn activities, which increases the risk of obesity, because they don't burn as many calories. It is understandable that obesity is a serious issue among children because it has a detrimental effect on not only the poor quality of life but also the long - term development of a country. One of the effects, being overweight increases the risk of many types of cancer, and more especially it can also have a profound effect on children's mental health. This means that if children get the problem of obesity, they have higher chances of developing a range of potential diseases related to heart, sleep patterns and concentration, which gives rise to the quality of children’s life that suffers, lacks self-esteem and gets depression. A high rate of obesity in adolescence also significantly affects the development of a country, and more specifically is its economic cost. The United States can be a real example of this situation when this country is considered to have a high rate of children's obesity, it becomes very expensive for the government to provide advanced medical care such as heart transplants, and by extension, the policymaker will get severe consequences when children reach adulthood with obesity, which leads to unhealthy citizens that are less productive at work and their children also learn poor eating habits from them, obesity keeps circling from generation to generation. In conclusion, childhood obesity is primarily due to great availability of unhealthy food and factors that prevent them from taking physical exercises. Obesity or even being overweight has serious effects on the individual and the society, thus both parents and the government need to take action to examine the causes of this problem and should have effective solutions to prevent children from this disease as soon as possible.