Some people think that going to the gym is one of the most important factors in achieving good health. Do you think that people can be healthy without going to the gym? What other factors contribute towards good health?

It is undoubtedly true that health is crucial for humans, and one of the most common ways to stay healthy is working out at the gym, some people assert. While going to the gym is an excellent way of maintaining health, we should not underestimate the importance of other factors as I think that it is possible to remain healthy without taking up gym exercise. Attending the gym certainly fosters a healthy lifestyle. When individuals go to the gym, they usually have a chance to work out using exercise machines, run on a treadmill, lift weights and do a host of other forms of exercise. All these activities allow people burn excess calories and keep a good level of fitness, thus boosting their immune system. Were it not for gyms, they would probably be prone to illnesses, since untrained people are normally vulnerable to sickness. It is therefore sensible to argue that going to gyms is one of the best methods to improve well-being. In my view, one can maintain their health even if they are not exercising in a gym because there are other contributors to health other than that. One of them is doing household chores. Research has shown ironing can be as beneficial as intensive workout at the gym. This makes sense because people are at least staying active, so any level of home activity, ranging from doing cooking to vacuuming, is of help to health since it stimulates muscles and blood circulation. Dietitians also suggest that people eat at least five portions of fruit and vegetables a day and control their sleeping patterns in order to stay healthy. Lack of sleep, or its deprivation, and eating for example fast food excessively, tend to make person feel physically and mentally tired, and keeps from vital ingredients. Lack of both these factors tend to bring about depression and stress, which might be a cause of health issues. So, people should take their sleep and diet seriously as well. In conclusion, it is feasible to stay healthy even if one does not attend gyms. It is important, though, to be active at home, and follow healthy eating and sleeping habits.