Write an essay to discuss to what extent stress can affect one's life

These days, the fast-paced life of the city has kept people in a hectic life with a great deal of work that's why more and more people are stressed. Some people claim that stress brings benefits to our lives, while some on the contrary that it has an adverse impact on the quality of one's life. I firmly believe that the advantages of being stressed are overshadowed by its disadvantages. In terms of the benefits, working under pressure increase people's courage and enthusiasm. If employees, for example, are afraid of losing their works, stress may stimulate them to raise their standards and make improvements they most likely would not have made without the threat of unemployment. In such a competitive world, pressure acts as a motivator that incites people to make a determined effort with a desire of having a successful life. Furthermore, being under stress is a useful way for people to manage their time effectively. Despite the above advantages, the body usually adapts to abnormal circumstances from a new or challenging situation that causes plenty of health problems. For instance, a student who often deal with a high level of academic stress throughout an academic year, experience health issues such as poor quality of sleep, high blood pressure, or severe depression. Moreover, a stressed person may feel more criticized by others, become more pessimistic, cynical, or resentful than usual. Therefore, people who experience these issues, can not think logically which leads to flawed decision-making. In conclusion, I reaffirm that the positive effects that stress has on our lives are outweighed by the disadvantages.