What are the advantages and disadvantages of fossil fuels?

It is undeniable that fossil fuels have countless benefits to humans, and it is scarcely possible to imagine life without them. However, they still have many adverse impacts, especially on the environment, and people, therefore, must take them into serious consideration. One of fossil fuel’s main advantages is its reasonable price and relative cheapness, which entitles many people, even the poor, to access it conveniently. This benefit must be put down to fossil fuel’s abundance supply and our great and well-developed infrastructure for it, which helps people to find and extract it easily and efficiently. Moreover, fossil fuel is reliable. Different from renewable energy, which depends on changes in the environment, fossil fuel usage is completely under our control, and it is not affected by environmental factors. For example, while solar panels need sun shines to operate efficiently, or else they use only half of their maximum capacity, fossil fuels can be burned everywhere and every time. Even fossil fuel has considerable merits, the demerits, however, are worrying. Initially, fossil fuels can be extremely dangerous in case of irresponsible use. They can cause so many catastrophic accidents such as explosions, accounting for their combustible material, oil spills, and even mining disasters, which cost approximately 500 lives each year. Furthermore, fossil fuels are extremely polluting, and they also cause irreparable loss to the environment. Most of the environmental problems which are of major concern these days such as global warming, air pollution, water pollution, are largely attributed to fossil fuels as they release highly toxic substances or gases into the environment. This means the environment will not stop being devastated and deteriorating until people make a switch to renewable energy. In conclusion, while fossil fuels have certain advantages and bring extreme convenience to people, they are still dangerous and cause irredeemable damage to both humans and the environment. Therefore, in my own eyes, I strongly believe that their minus points outweigh their plus points.