write an essay to discuss the positive and negative effects of online social networking sites on students' studying results

These days, we have witnessed changes that social networking sites have brought to students' lives. Some people reckon that social media apps have an adverse impact on college students' academic results. I firmly believe that the benefits of these technologies are overshadowed by their drawbacks. In terms of advantages, social networking sites have revolutionized the way of communication. These sites have made it easier for students to keep in contact with their professors and friends, regardless of geographic location. When encountering a difficult task, for example, teenagers can use the video call features of Facebook, Skype, or various other apps to ask their teachers. Furthermore, digital platforms help university students enhance their academic performance and increase skills through data and information gathering. They can easily access to e-books, educational videos on Youtube to gain knowledge. Despite the above benefits, social media platforms are a major factor of distraction and hindrance of mind. Instead of studying, students waste a lot of time surfing these sites, which causes a negative effect on their academic results. The abuse of social media also affects their style of speaking and writing. Youngsters usually use informal words which are used in text messages, in their academic essays, or in work emails. In conclusion, I am of the opinion that the advantages of social networking sites outweigh their disadvantages.