write an essay to an educated reader to discuss your opinions about whether public smoking should be banned or not

Medical research has shown that smoking not only leads to health problems for smokers but also for people around them. Therefore, many believe that smoking should not be allowed in public places. Although there are controversies on both sides, I strongly agree that the ban is the most appropriate action. Opponents of such bans oppose it for some reasons following. First, they say that non-smokers choose to breathe in other people's smoke by going to places where it is permitted. If they just prefer not to smoke passively, then they do not need to visit places where smoking is allowed. Moreover, they believe that ban is likely to drive away many barriers and bars out of business as smokers would not go there anymore. They argue that it is a matter of liberty of choice. Finally, Smoking is not illegal, so people should have the freedom to smoke wherever they want. Nonetheless, there are more persuasive arguments in favor of the ban. There are many disadvantages of smoking that have negative effects on both individual and the environmental level. First and foremost, it increases the risk of many health problems in humans, due to the presence of pathogens in tobacco. For example, an increase in lung-related diseases, such as tuberculosis and lung cancer, has been reported in smokers. In addition, the smoke not only harms the smoker, but it also leads to more negative effects on people nearby. Especially, it is very stressful and challenging for non-smokers to work in smoking areas. It is also true that people's health is more important than business. In any case, that is, restaurants and cafes can adapt to the ban, for example, by allowing smoking areas. In conclusion, while there are a few negative things to stop people from smoking in public, there are many beneficial effects. I strongly agree to stop smoking in densely populated areas because it will significantly reduce the percentage of health-related problems. In the same way, it can help to create a comfortable environment in the workplace, and other public places such as shopping malls, restaurants, and public transport.