According to the University of Michigan, an estimated 30 million trees are cut down each year to produce paper for books in the United State. Moreover, when a large number of trees are cut down, the carbon dioxide that is stored in the tree is released to the air and causes global warming, according to the USC. Therefore, the

According to the University of Michigan, an estimated 30 million trees are cut down each year to produce paper for books in the United State. Moreover, when a large number of trees are cut down, the carbon dioxide that is stored in the tree is released to the air and causes global warming, according to the USC. Therefore, the production of paper using recycled processes is introduced to reduce the impact. To understand how the global warming effects can be diminished, it is necessary to understand the original and the recycled processes of paper manufacturing. The conventional method of paper production is divided into 6 significant steps. Once the conifer trees are cut down, leaves and small branches are discarded before they are logged into smaller pieces. After that, the bark, the hard outer covering of trees, is also removed and reused for other purposes. The remaining pieces of conifer wood are then chopped and converted into woodchips. The woodchips are, later on, crushed, cleaned, and transformed into a soft, wet mass called pulp. Finally, the pulp is sent to the papermaking machine to roll and press into thin pieces, then it is cut into standard size to pack. The preferable method of paper manufacturing is to use recycled paper instead of natural resources. This process can dramatically reduce the number of trees that are cut down. First of all, used paper is sent to the recycle centre. Paper is then bailed before it is pulped and cleaned. Next, the printing ink on the reused paper is eliminated by the process called de-ink. After that, similar to the first method, the de-ink pulp of paper is eventually rolled and pressed into thin pieces before it is cut and packed. In conclusion, the method of manufacturing paper by recycling is a good way to lower the number of trees that are cut down, which leads to the improvement of global warming. Therefore, it is predicted that the ‘paper to paper’ process will be taken into account more in the future.