write an essay on central banking digital currency.

CBDC(central banking digital currency) As we know many giant companies such as the US, UK, China, and a few other countries are emerging with own their digital-formed currencies, CBDC, now our country is also going to launch its own digital currency and stand globally. Central bank digital currency is just a digital version of currency. For example, India's CBDC will be the digital version of the rupee, china’s will be the digital version of the yuan, etc. A few years ago, cryptocurrencies were launched. They have a lot of advantages over physical currency but also have several other loopholes due to not being regulated properly. So to take advantage of technologies several countries are going to launch their own state-based digital currencies that work within the country. Digital currencies can store data such as who transferred to it whom. It will be like a ledger for each digital coin. The transparency in the flow of currency would help the government to trace illegal activities such as money laundering, corruption, black money, etc. It will help in deterring financial crimes to a large extent. Its transaction speeds are faster and the speed stays the same all the time, even on the days of bank holidays. By using CBDC, international transactions will become easier and faster. Its fee transaction is very less than other transactions which have been digitally done. Thus, it has lots of advantages but while it's launching we should know about the hindrances that obstruct its pathways. As India is an agriculture-based economy where citizens are less educated but we can’t deny as an evolving country India has increased its status. Yet, there is many urban and rural citizens who are illiterate. They do not know how to access the techno gadgets. As the CBDC is state-owned, it requires human resources and other infrastructures that operate too. Meanwhile, the transaction, if there is technical server problem arise that can create distrust towards the government. By increasing use of it, it has increased the competition among the commercial banks. Since it is the state-owned currency that leads to geographical restrictions as we can’t do the transaction internationally. If the CBDC is crypto-based CBDC can increase its price high. It will also increase system wide-bank runs which lead to the financial crisis due to clients want to withdraw their money from banks as banks would lose their existence. As we have moved in the technology era so we should rely on the digital version of currency but also we should be careful about its consequences as “every coin has two aspects. ” As cashless transactions are rising it leads to cybercrimes at an increasing rate. So, if the CBDC is launched without strengthening cybersecurity, it may invite more trouble. Even though digital currencies maintain the leger of transaction and contain advanced technology to trace financial crimes but it can be misused for money laundering, terror funding, and also other illegal activities. At present, many criminals are using cryptocurrencies for illegal activities. As we lived in the modern era that is called the technology era where privacy is more important than gold. When we have done transactions digitally, our data can be hacked so it leads to privacy issues.