my jokes can damage other’s life

I was a teenage girl who go to high school every day. I would like to say that my life is to say no to the drama. But the peace that I try to build upended. That was an unforgettable time in my whole life. I was made huge trouble to my friend. And now, thinking back, I feel shameful for myself. In my memory, all the things that happened in one morning, during the time we had a lecture on Literature. Nothing was going to happen if Mary - my best friend didn’t go to the toilet. Mary asks for going out nearly the end of the lesson. When she is out, it is the time that teacher reminds us next class going to have a test from unit 1 to unit 4. Then, the bell rang, announcing the time for us to take a rest. A few minutes flew by, Mary comes back, and she asks me if the teacher told us to do something. But, unfortunately, I answer her when I’m making a joke with others. I tell her that we will take a test, next class, from unit 1 to unit 3. I swear to God that I did not mean something bad to Mary. If this thing happens on another day, she will already know I’m lying but I don’t know why this time she chooses to believe me? And from that day, all my memories about this are disappearing. So, whatever comes will come, it is the day that we have a test. I spent a week on this test, and want something back that is worth my hard work. When we finally finish, I ask Mary how did she do on her test, but she responds to me with a frightened and shaking voice: ‘ which unit did you tell me to study? ’ I answer exactly like the teacher told us to, but then, I recognize what have I done… In the following days, Mary doesn’t say to me even one word. I understand how serious this situation is. I don’t know what to do but sorry. It's been a year now and we don’t want to mention this anymore, luckily Mary knows this is just an accident so she didn’t blame me much. Through this time, I realize that my jokes can damage other’s life, and I am not going to make fun of this anymore.