Write an essay on 3 (three) life/ learning lessons you have received or felt through a Movie/ TV Series/ Documentary.

“I Feel Pretty” is an American comedy movie written & directed by Abby Kohn & Marc Silverstein. The film was released in the United States on April 20, 2018, by STX Entertainment. The main lead of the movie is Amy Schumer. She played the character of Renee Bennett, who is a naive woman and struggles every day with her insecurities. I have learned three empowering life lessons from this beautiful movie. Firstly, we belong to a society that carries the cliché of “What’s on inside that counts, ” however, looks, weight, or physical appearance mostly create first impressions. If society gives you the stamp of approval, it becomes more subtle to attract people, demonstrate your abilities, and feel confident. Renee decides not to apply for a receptionist job at the corporate headquarter, which is her dream job because it requires being beautiful. Being an overweight girl, she has lower self-esteem, which prevents her from aiming high. One day, she falls from her spin bike and has a head injury. After she regains consciousness, she looks in the mirror and believes that she miraculously becomes beautiful. In reality, Renee looks just like before, but in her mind, her dream has just come true. This makes her confident, which she was never before. She applies for that receptionist position and qualifies for the job. Though this job requires beauty, and in reality, her appearance hasn’t changed, the interviewers are impressed by her confidence and hire her for that position. The above incident has taught me that your attitude and your confidence speak louder for yourself than your physical appearance. Secondly, there is no doubt that effective communication can have healing power. As we proceed, we see, when Renee again wakes up from a nasty fall, she realizes that she had not changed at all. Her confidence is back to its previous state. She believes that she’s now unable to continue this job and can’t connect with the people around her. So, she decides not to communicate with these people and runs away from her problems. From that part, I have learned that running away from your problems and not trying to communicate with others never solves the problem. If we feel insecure, we should approach our close ones. The people who are close to you will not be there for you if they don’t care about you. So, don’t fear to express your worries to others; whether it is personal or professional, communication will make things easier for you. Thirdly, Renee has two best friends & they don’t concern about what she looks like, her dressing sense, or how successful she is. But when Renee is “beautiful” she tries to change their beauty, fashion sense & dating standards. As she is beautiful now & her friends should also cope up with her standard. Thus, irritates her friends & they leave her, which is equitable & indicates we shouldn’t allow someone in our life who only wants to change us. After Renee realizes her mistake, she apologizes to them for her behavior & emphasizes that being a kind soul is more important. Sometimes even if you have a perfect look or perfect body, you will find something to be insecure about. Overall, this is not a life-changing movie, but it enlightens us about a lot of our self-esteem & helps us change our way of thinking. You have to build your confidence without any fear of judgement. If you can do this, you will be able to pursue your dreams. You don’t have to hit your head to realize that you are worthy. But to achieve confidence, you have to start somewhere. Looking perfect or having a perfect body won’t make you a perfect person. So, we should focus on developing our inner qualities. This film realizes us about those qualities of our life. Everyone should at least watch this movie for once. It will help us to think from a different perspective about all the insecurities.