Many students take part time jobs while studying in university. Do you think this is a good idea or bad?

It is irrefutable that the cost of tertiary education is expensive, therefore making student to take up part-time jobs to compensate the expense. I am of the opinion that it is a good idea and this essay will substantiate relevant explanations and examples. To begin with, even though higher education has become more accessible, the price for this degree are also very high. Thus, opting out for a part-time job will provide a financial support to the student through out their academic career and have lesser burden on their parents. Moreover, this kind of job provides a key skill of self-reliance, which is very crucial in todays competitive world. As been self-dependent can assist in excelling both academic as well as professional career by not relying on others for making things happen. Furthermore, part-time jobs pave a way for reality of professional life and its commitment as it gives a brief exposure of the work, which needs to be carried out for fulling job requirement on time. On the other hand, a major draw back of doing part-time job is getting tired and exhausted of the work and not being able to study as this may lead to lack of concentration issues. Additionally, a sense of gaining quick money, which is a short-term advantage cannot be understood by student, and they may get astray form their original goal and seek to bail-out from their academic career. According to a survey, on part-time job done by students it was found that there is an increase in issues related to lack of concentration in studies by 4 percent per annum. To come to a conclusion, doing part-time jobs can be of more benefit to students and make them ready for the real world whereas the drawbacks are minimal, and can be dealt with proper timetable and commitment.