Write an essay of at least 250 words on the following topic: WHAT CAN BE DONE TO ACHIEVE HERD IMMUNITY AGAINST THE PANDEMIC OF COVID-19?

Now that mankind is currently in the fight against the novel coronavirus pandemic, the mission to achieve herd immunity has been prioritized more than ever before. Two plausible methods to attain the goal are equal vaccine access for all as well as concerted efforts between governments and their citizens. First and foremost, as herd immunity is defined as the state in which most of the population is immune to an infectious disease, equitable vaccine distribution is, without a doubt, the most effective method to disrupt the chain of transmission across the globe. However, drastic economical gaps between developed and underdeveloped countries will halt the process. One possible solution is for wealthy countries to give a loan to other countries in need of vaccines. However effective vaccines can be, citizens must alway abide by social distancing rules as well as other preventive measures as there are still individuals who aren’t qualified to get a vaccine (pregnant women and those with allergy issues). Because it is no uncommon knowledge that we can’t go back to our pre-pandemic lifestyle immediately after vaccine distribution and prolonged efforts will be required to prevent future waves of coronavirus, after vaccines are introduced, concerted efforts between authorities and their citizens must be maintained. In conclusion, although achieving herd immunity poses a challenge for mankind due to various problems, I firmly believe nothing is impossible for mankind if we make joint efforts towards the same goal.