TSA Essay- Globalization essay

Recently, many articles published by far-right media claimed that globalization is not just destroying the borders but also cultural identity related to a nation. Some socialists have also claimed that globalization creates inequality and poverty and that it encourages the exploitation of labor and implementation of capitalism into a country's economic model. Both of the groups consider globalization to be a threat to nations. I can clearly resonate with them because of my background: my parents suffered from bankruptcy and long-term unemployment during the 2008 financial crisis, and had it not been for globalization things would get lots better since the world wouldn't have to bail out U. S banks. However, I can't agree with them. In this essay, I argue that globalization is not a threat to nations. To do so, I will outline two supporting arguments while responding to possible challenges to my approaches and objections. I argue that globalization leads to peace and interdependence, both of which are important for the preservation of the idea of nations. I will move this further, that national identity is similar to that of a person, and society is the aggregation of all nations. Some may object to my arguments, pretending globalization will eliminate the distinctive characteristics of a nation, and that it is a weak analogy to suppose a nation as a person. I first argue that nationhood, drastically different from statehood, refers to a group of people who share the same vision, religion, traditions, or history. Globalization is not a threat to nations. I argue that globalization leads to interdependence on resources, money, or laborers. Nations with interdependence with each other would not want to see this balance broken because of differences in cultures, traditions, and history. To avoid the situation, nations would start communicating with each other and learning others' cultures, eventually realizing that peace and mutual respect's cultures are the necessary conditions for both nations to preserve. Some may challenge this approach. They argue that globalization leads to the elimination of distinctive characteristics of different nations by mixing up every culture to create a new one that nations may find familiar to their original culture but cannot be completely familiar with the new one. They hold that nations provide people who have similar cultures and traditions with security and recognition. I, however, do not find this counter-argument convincing. Globalization fosters communication between different nations. Nations may have developed the same characteristics, but it does not therefore follow that globalization would eliminate the idea of nations. Lack of respect and understanding of others' nations or cultures would, unfortunately, lead to turmoils and wars between the two nations, eventually leading to the destruction of nations and cultures affiliated with them. I further argue that if it is true that nations are groups of people who share the same cultures, visions, traditions, or history, then it does follow that a nation is like a person with his/her full understanding of his/her ethnicity. The aggregation of nations is therefore similar to the society. A person cannot enjoy well-being if it lives outside society and society provides conditions for people to flourish while they get to keep their identities. Similarly, nations cannot live independently of each other or they'll fail to flourish. Some might object to this approach, arguing it's a weak comparison between a person and a nation. They argue that a nation cannot be understood as a human being since a nation consists of different people with different visions, traditions, or cultures. The argument fails, in my opinion. I contend that -the objection presupposes that there can't exist a distinct characteristic in a country- by doing so, the objection already contradicts its claim that globalization is a threat to nations since nations are not entirely different from each other.