IELTS Writing Task 2 - Media

With the rapidly increasing accessibility to media, It is argued that the violence on television or in computer games will encourage violence in daily life and incite people to behave more aggressively, eventually leading to a less peaceful society. Others do not entirely agree with the statement though, arguing that these elements have minimal effect on the growing violence in the society. In this essay, I will argue that the media has a rather smaller impact on society and effect on human development. To do so, I will first argue that while it does make sense that violent people tend to play violent games, the reverse is not the case since violence is a human characteristic and needs to develop through more impactful events instead of the media. Secondly, I will argue that computer games or television actually reduces the cases of violent behaviors since people can express and relax themselves while playing games and therefore will not resort to extreme methods when facing a series of setbacks. Firstly, some experts suggested that violence tends to be triggered by frustration, depression or setbacks instead of the media. While there are many cases where people who play video games commit a series of killings, we cannot therefore conclude that video games or the media encourages crimes. There is a very weak causal connection between the media and violence as media is less impactful on our human development than our upbringing. A friend of mine spent almost 8 hours on Player Unknown Battleground per day but he’s actually an amiable person in real life and few can actually tell that he is an avid game player if he didn’t tell them at the first stance. Therefore, it can be argued that violence is less likely to be triggered by the media than one’s growing environment. Secondly, I argue that with the development of video games and invention of virtual reality, there will be less violence in the society and therefore fewer violent crimes as people with violent motives express themselves or relax in the world of video games. If it is a lot more exciting to kill people in the game and win the champion prize, then people have very less incentive to actually act aggressively in real life. For example, scientific research shows that around ⅔ of testees reported feeling less violent once they became more addicted to video games as they’re able to escape from real-life frustrations or depressions. Therefore, I argue that violence in the media or video games have damaging effects on society. To conclude, I do not agree with the statement that video games or the media are the causes of violence because there is a very weak causal connection between violence and the media and of scientific research that demonstrates the effectiveness of violent video games in reducing the crime rate and violence in a person. Therefore, I argue that video games are less likely to trigger violence on human beings.