Write an essay about the effect of the Covid 19 on tertiary education.

Research conducted in 2021 indicates that the COVID-19 pandemic has created the largest disruption in education in human history, affecting nearly 1. 6 billion learners all over the world. This has far-reaching impacts on many aspects of tertiary education, including education quality and assessment. Firstly, education quality is greatly affected by the pandemic. Due to closures of universities and institutions, lecturers and students have to resort to digital learning platforms such as Zoom and Microsoft Teams. Despite its convenience, learning online can deprive students of lecturers’ direct instructions and make them feel less involved in learning activities, regardless of external distractions like facilitation access or study environment. To illustrate, a study conducted in the UK reported that 58% of students were less engaged in online classes than in normal ones. As a result, lessons could not be fully delivered and students’ understanding is limited. Secondly, the outbreak of the pandemic has posed challenges to the process of assessment. During the pandemic, the closure of universities and colleges could coincide with a key assessment period so exams are not allowed to be organised on site. Consequently, institutes had no choice but to hold them via online platforms or use various combinations of assessment methods, such as portfolios, essays or projects instead. This results in concerns about the reliability of outcomes due to inequality in facilitating conditions and the likelihood of cheating in exams. Tertiary teaching and learning methods, process of assessment and education quality have been greatly influenced by the outbreak of Covid 19 pandemic. Along with adapting to Covid 19, people need to stamp out the pandemic, getting back to normal education to avoid its shortcomings.