write an essay about the effect of money on happiness

It is often argued that happiness relies on money. While I agree that a certain amount of money is needed to live a comfortable life, I do not believe that people need a lot of money in order to be happy; happiness depends on a number of other factors. In my opinion, people can definetly be happy without having a substantial amount of money. We only need enough money for essential needs such as food and accomodation. If people have these, I believe that their happiness is not tied to money. Money can only buy materials, which has nothing to do with our happiness. For instance, when a man purchases an expensive car, he is likely to be happy about it for a day or two, but after a year, this vehicle will not be making him happy anymore. There are other factors that affect our levels of happiness more than money does. I believe that health is the cornerstone of our general well-being, and thus our happiness. For example, people who suffer from a chronic disabling disease are more likely to suffer from mental illness and subsequently be unhappy. In addition to that, romantic relashionships and friendships are essential for people to be happy as lonliness and social isolation can only have a negative impact on our mental health; Interaction with caring and loving people can undoubtedly boost our happiness. In conclusion, a huge amount of money is not required to be happy, and happiness relies on various other factors such as physical and mental health, as well as good relationships.