The first spacecraft was launched in 1957 by the Soviet Union. Today the United States spends 18 billion dollars on their space program. Governments should fund programs for space exploration.

A few things that, perhaps, we have only seen in movies or read in scientific books, are not that far away from happening. In the 1960s, John F. Kennedy, the president of the United States at that time, gave a dramatic speech about space exploration. He requested for more billion dollars for five years to achieve the goal of landing a man on the moon and returning to the Earth safely. Since then, popular debates about space exploration have become more common. The thing about space programs is that they are not only composed of the best engineers and physicists, they also have the best chemistries and biologists. Is this multidisciplinarity that creates innovations for our lives. X-rays, kidney dialysis machines, athletic shoes, digital imaging, global position satellites, medicines, cosmetics, and even more things can be used as examples of what we had received from it. Our planet is indeed passing through climate change, famine, pestilence, and even more problems, and we can not forget about it. And it is a fact that space programs are expensive. But what most people do not know is that space exploration does not only focus on extraterrestrial lives or space tourism. It also studies what we can do to preserve the Earth and life here. Satellites can provide data on climate change, can measure pollution, as well as be used to predict natural disasters, being capable of saving people’s lives. There is a long list of the positive consequences of aerospace science, outweighing the negative points. From my perspective, governments should fund programs for space exploration, because the benefits from this are enormous. This is a topic that must be discussed even more, to open people’s minds about the greatness of space programs and help them realize the wonders that have come and will come with it.