Write an essay about the advantages and disadvantages of public transportation

Along with the accelerating development of human civilization, public transports nowadays are not something novel anymore. As a result, it can be easily seen that there is a wide utilization of public transport for commuting and traveling in the city, especially in cosmopolitan ones. However, there exist some concerns about whether its drawbacks outweigh its benefits. This essay will make an exploration into the pros and cons of using public transports. To begin, I will look into the upsides of public transports usage. Obviously, the first and foremost benefit is the convenience that public transports offer. In the cities, there is a range of routes for public transport covering the whole area. We can easily find a route that is most suitable for our needs. Every public transports are almost available twenty-four seven. That means, no need to have your own vehicle, you can still travel around with ease. In addition, we can enjoy the amenities that public transports provide such as air conditioning systems, comfortable seats as well as safety. Besides that, using public transportations make a great contribution to air pollution minimization. The more people using public transports, the fewer air pollutants being emitted into the environment. The reason for it is when people choosing public transports, there will be a decrease in using other means like private cars or motorbikes to travel. We all know that the emissions that private cars and motorbikes generate to the environment account for one of the main causes of air pollution. There exist the upsides, so do the downsides. The main problem when using public transports that many people encounter is the lack of punctuality. For example, due to the weather condition, or traffic problems, a bus can delay, which may imply problems at work. If a person wants to commute to work on time, he usually has to depart early and spend time waiting for the bus. If he not, he can miss the bus and go to work late. In addition, the public transport is pretty crowded at rush hour, which creates a higher chance for infections with diseases. To conclude, everything has its limits. Despite the fact that there are still some problems when using public transport, many people, especially friendly-environmentally ones, opt for it because of its convenience and harmlessness to the environment. From my personal perspective, I believe public transports hold greater advantages than its disadvantages.