Suddenly there was absolute silence.

Some memories never fade. Some memories walk with us to our six-foot deep future homes. In my heart I will always have a passion for music. The rhythm of the beat is the blood in my veins. I can close my eyes and hear the notes, tasting the sweet sound they leave on my tongue. This is my life, this is my true love. But love does not pay the bills, my father would say to me, loosening his tie and kicking off his leather shoes. I couldn't put that replenishing sound into his heart. Every time I tried, my words fell on deaf ears. He unrelentingly points me to his own path. A path lined with office buildings, littered with stocks and bonds. Down this path, there was nothing for me. Through high school the only pleasure I ever got was when I was playing music. I joined a band and finally found people that I could connect with. My grades were starting to slip and I knew I was in academic trouble. As the grades dropped, my father would threaten me, saying that there were to be no more music and wasting time in rehearsals. I would make promises, promises I could not keep. We were set to perform on the same night I would return home with a report card that would lead to me being eternally separated from my one true love. I could just see my father violently ripping into the envelope. Burning anger in his eyes as he smash my drum set leaving shipwreck where treasure once stood. There were to be no more music and wasting time in rehearsals. In a final effort to persuade him, I got in and turned the radio on to a local station. Our argument got interrupted by an ear-splitting crash. Glass shattered melodiously and the sounds of Elvis echoed as I hit my head. Suddenly there was absolute silence. Unconscious of the sounds around me I now dreadfully sit in a cubicle facing my father's office. My ears might not let me hear the beautiful rhythm that is music, but when I close my eyes I can still hear the notes in my mind and be left with a sweet taste on my tongue.