Write an essay about how you apply knowledge on discourse studies to improve your English

Discourse Analysis is a critical subject for those who study languages to enhance themselves in using languages. And through this subject, I improved my English with knowledge of the cooperative principle, particularly the importance of the CP and the meaning of violating the CP in special cases. To begin with, Discourse Analysis Subject helps me to realize that the cooperative principle plays a key role in conversations, and it is necessary to apply maxims appropriately to communicate successfully. This subject benefits me from understanding clearly about definitions and usages of the four maxims of the CP including quantity maxim, quality maxim, relation maxim, and manner maxim. As a result, I got the importance of these and avoided answers that flouted maxims like “I go swimming under the water”, or “I am doing housework at my house” that I used to say. After studying about the CP, I have gradually improved it by answering enough necessary information, such as “I go swimming in the pool in Bach Bang Street”, presenting my opinions briefly and clearly, and avoiding saying false things. Furthermore, Discourse Analysis let me know that it is not always wrong to violate the cooperative principle, in some special cases, this violation brings special implications for listeners. So this is also a useful lesson that I, if necessary, can apply in my communication. For instance, although the sentence "Money is just money. " does not give us new information and flouts quantity maxim, it contains a meaningful message if we consider the speaker's implied meaning. It advises everyone not to spend too much time and effort, or even do illegal things to earn money because money is just a means in life, not everything, and many other things are more vital and valuable like family, health, love. In conclusion, the cooperative principle is crucial in daily communication to create meaningful conversation, but in some necessary situations, we can violate the CP to express special implications or prioritize other purposes. Therefore, this knowledge is of great help and contributes to enhancing my English a lot.