Write about the following topic.

In today's world, mobile phones have become a common accessory for everyone. Most of us including students carry a smartphone with us. Like with everything, overuse of anything can have serious repercussions, and therefore a few schools have decided to ban cell phones within school premises. This essay will discuss the positive and negative effects of this decision backed with relevant examples. In recent times, we have been hearing alot about attention deficit disorder in young children, and how it is directly linked to the over-use of mobile phones. Many reports suggest, that typical attention span for a young kid is now less than 2 minutes which was earlier, 14 minutes. This leads to a lack of focus and interest in studies or extra-curricular activities, which could translate to bad grades in school. Therefore a no phone policy in schools could be a positive move, as students will now much rather focus on their studies and engage in school activities which is a vital requirement in their formative years, instead of staying glued to the phone screens. However, some believe that it is a negative move because as per them mobiles act as a virtual teacher for the kids and they can learn from it faster, and at any time. Also, this allows students to not waste their time writing notes since they can just click photos from the classroom, and save time and paper. In conclusion, we need to understand that a technology is never good or bad. As is the case with every technology, mobile phones are an extremely useful tool for us provided they are being used judiciously. It is up to us to decide, whether we want to use it for our betterment or for our downfall. We need to be extra careful on how our children are using their phones and make sure that it should not effect their studies or mindset.