Write about an example of social inequality. What do you see as a primary cause of this inequality?

Our world is rife with injustice. While millions of children fight to stay warm, I have a choice of outfit every day. In the United Kingdom free education is taken for granted. Elsewhere there are young girls determined to overcome barriers to their own education, risking their lives. I have an almost infinite range of nutritious options on my school menu, yet there are desperate young children who right now could never imagine what a satisfied stomach feels like. This injustice weaves throughout history. My grandparents survived the Great Chinese Famine driven by desperation. My grandfather ate raw onions as if they were apples; my grandmother witnessed her dearest mother slowly but inevitably deteriorating from the lack of food, breaking her heart, while she was powerless to help, paralyzed as she was by the fatally incompetent nature of the government. In 21st century China, the juxtaposition between the lives of the rich and poor never fails to strike me. During visits to my parents’ homeland, I’m pulled between two polar opposites. On one side are my relatives in the countryside. Lacking dog food, they resorted to chucking leftovers to their mongrel. Their houses looked brittle. Their everyday existence was a million miles from my own life, yet we remain bound by blood. On the opposite side of the spectrum are families similar to my uncles, whether it be vacations to exotic attractions or an evening spent at Beijing’s premier Peking Duck restaurant in which delicately diced duck lay elaborately assembled and adorned with a rainbow palette of sauces, sugars, and vegetables. Time spent with this family is anything but dull. No one can deny that how privileged had painted over the dirty and disintegrating underlayer of society, so prominent in countless places in order that our entitled selves would be shielded from the unjust misery. The gap between the affluent and the poor borders on absurdity. The division is frightening in its starkness. There are two types of people: those who have nothing, and those with everything. Another tortuous truth is that while right now thousands of real people’s lives are being wrecked in the face of natural disasters, privileged people are producing multi-million dollar disaster thrillers only for the fleeting entertainment of those consumers privileged enough to have the means to purchase a ticket to such escapist entertainment. The primary cause of these disparities in wealth is that as privileged people, we play blind. We cannot continue to disregard the sufferings of millions. There needs to be an end to our distancing and now is the time to knock down the wall between our mundane, if hypnotically comfortable, existences and their living hell. Poverty is a desperate, pressing, and present emergency. Blessed to be placed in privileged positions, we should strive to love with a selfless and humble heart. Our society stands at the threshold of an urgent revival. All it takes is for one pair of eyes to open to the world around them.