These days people in some countries are living in a “throwaway” society which means people use things in a short time then throw them away. What are its causes and what problems will it lead to?

In the contemporary world, as the advances in technology have brought a remarkable improvement in human’s living standards, humans have a tendency to jettison their aged items in order to adopt the overconsumption lifestyles. This essay will take an elaborate look at this rationale before analysing the negative ramifications it brings. There are several prominent driving forces proving the increase in consuming goods and services of mankind. First and foremost, thanks to the greatly-improved living standard, the income of people has increased significantly leading to wasteful spending to keep pace with the latest fashion regardless of the price as well as product qualities. For instance, the short life expectancy, battery problems or fragile glass designs of smartphones and electric items. Secondly, taking advantage of the fact that citizens are prone to be overly indulging in advertising, manufacturers and businesses have drawn customers’ attention with the diversity and uniqueness of their product styles and designs, thereby further promoting consumerism. Parallel to the habits of excessive consumption of appliances, the consequences that it brings also have direct effects on the quality of life of each person. When people always purchase products simply because of their uniqueness without using them, they face the loss of a large amount of wasted and useless money. Another fundamental issue is that this tendency might bring about some serious effects on the environment. Annually, tons of untreated waste are discharged directly into the environment causing alarming problems such as global warming, greenhouse effect and a series of other natural disasters that directly threaten the habitat of creatures, even humans. In conclusion, Due to the increasing demand for human consumption, leading to unpredictable consequences on the environment. Hence, the government should take the most practical measures to raise the public’s awareness and balance life for the people.