Why would you be a great participant in the Global UGRAD Program?

One of the best opportunities in life would be studying in the United States and having the opportunity to come across this program would be helpful for me to make changes to my home community. Being brought up in a big city of Saudi Arabia, then moving to a rural area of Thailand, I see a big difference within the Education system in Thailand, which I believe that the English Education here is not quite effective for young learners of 21st century. I then volunteered to teach English for a month in a small school nearby where I faced some difficulties when teaching there, students cannot read nor speak English at all. But with my enthusiasm to bring English language into their lives, I quickly solved by adapting of what I have learned and observed from my teachers back in Saudi Arabia. Guiding them with reading to correcting their pronunciation, I see some changes in them. I also volunteered in another small school to conduct a brain-based learning, in which we painted the outer walls of the school with the alphabets A to Z. Students were excited with the results, they not only get to see the paintings, but they were also learning by observing. This motivates and encourages me more to be someone that can be helpful within the community. Recently, I went to do my research on Thai Education towards English language and according to the EF English Proficiency Index, Thailand ranked 22 out of 24 overall in Asian countries. As an English Major and as the future teacher of the next generation, I simply cannot turn a blind eye to this. With teachers teaching students with traditional method of structure and memorization, lead to students’ unwillingness to study. Therefore, by studying in the United States will provide me greater opportunity to observe how the American education system works, how classroom management are conducted and how can I bring back of what I have studied from the United States to make changes in my home community. I do not want to limit myself studying with the education that I receive here, I do not want to limit myself studying English major just to call myself an English teacher in the future but I would like to explore more and bring changes for the development of my home education system. I will not only get the opportunity to bring what I have learned to my home country, but I will also apply of what I have gained and share of what I have accomplished with my peers, where with passion and believe we can build a school and a better community together. I will not only bring what I have achieved but I will also share the culture of my beloved country to different people that I will encountered. I will talk about the land of smile, especially the Northeastern part, where interesting dialects can be found, types of music genre and a different language that I have learned from one of my volunteering works as a member of Social Engineering, it is called “phasa Thai noy”.