Write a passage about 150-200 words about the statement “The invention of the Internet has had negative effects on our civilization”. Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

The invention of the Internet is considered an unprecedented technological breakthrough that revolutionized communications worldwide. Yet, some people believe that the Internet has had negative effects on our civilization. While I accept that the Internet has greater impacts on people’s lives, I think it is both negative and positive. On the one hand, spending too much time on the internet makes people neglect their studies, work, lose concentration, and ability to complete on time. People communicate online but lose their ability to do that face to face, which results in decreasing social abilities. Moreover, with a large amount of information that is available freely, the issues of misuse and theft have increased largely. On the other hand, the Internet has opened windows of opportunities to learn about different cultures, customs, and traditions through social networking. Endless information on any topic such as services, trade, commerce, market information, latest news, education, etc. is obtainable. Also, online gaming, watching movies, and listening to music are the most common sources to entertain. In conclusion, I think that the invention of the Internet is a double-edged sword, if not used the proper way it would undoubtedly yield undesirable results that will affect our civilization in the long run.