Some people say that public money should be used to support the work of theatre companies. Others say that theatre companies should be completely self-funding. Discuss both these views and give your opinion

Whether theatres should receive any public money has always been a controversial issue. Some people argue that theatres should get it, while others believe that theaters should finance themselves. I have a different opinion. I believe that theatres have impact on people and countries, so they should be supported. This essay will discuss both these opinions. First of all, people generally benefit from going to theatres. They represent our culture, traditions and history. Secondly, theatres earn name and fame for our county. Moreover, theatre companies provide work for people. Therefore, encouragement for theatres improves the livelihood of people who base their career on arts. Nevertheless, if theaters did not get the funding, many of them would be forced to close. Tickets prices would be higher, so only the better-off would be able to enjoy the theatre. What is more, the quality of productions may suffer. On the other hand, governments have concerns that are more important. For example, state budgets could be better spent on education, healthcare and security. If governments cut their spending on theatre works, they could provide free medical facilities for people in need. This is likely to result in improving the quality of people’s lives. However, while these are vital areas for spending, if public money is used to support theatres, everyone benefits as well-funded theatres are more likely to attract tourists. As a result, this boosts the economic growth of a country. To sum up, government should distribute its funds to all sectors including art as they all contribute to the society.