Write a brief note on one of the following in 400 to 500 words: Multilingualism

Multilingualism: - Multilingualism refers to the capacity of humans to communicate in different languages. Depending on one’s linguistic biography, one can be competent in more than one language. More than half of all Europeans claim to speak at least one language other than their mother tongue but many read and write in one language. Always beneficial to traders, multilingualism is advantageous for people wanting to participate in globalization and cultural openness. The definition of “Multilingualism is a subject of debate in the same way as that of language fluency”. On one end of a sort of linguistic continuum, one may define multilingualism as complete competence and mastery in another language. The speaker would presumably have complete knowledge and control over the language to sound native. On the opposite end of the spectrum would be people who know enough phrases to get around as a tourist using the alternate language. Since 1992, Vivian Cook has argued that most multilingual speakers fall somewhere between minimal and maximal definitions. Benefits of Multilingualism: - It’s better for your brain: - Being multilingual actually changes your brain structure, and this can help you in multiple ways. It improves your memory, helps you process information better, and helps with multitasking skills. But the biggest brain benefit is that speaking multiple languages can actually delay the effects of insanic by “an average of 5 years”. It opens up your travel opportunities: - As, you’re able to learn there native language which might help you to get there as well as expand your travel opportunities. It builts a Take a trip overseas and you’ll likely need a tour guide to get you from place to place. This might impede you from going to a place you’ve only dreamed about going. But, if you could speak the native tongue, you could ask just about anyone where to go, what to do, and how to get there. It just It expands your employment opportunities. Businesses today look for people who are bilingual or multilingual due to the diversity in today’s population. Some companies are globally operated and hiring a person who knows many languages can give them an edge when it comes to direct sales. Social workers and school teachers who are multilingual can make a world of difference to those who are new to the country.