What can international organizations really do for us? What are their limits?

United Nation is international organization to promote peace making and peacekeeping. UN do many things to save citizen in the conflict state in the world. Its first operation started in late 1989-1994, in the middle 1990s, and towards the 21 st century. Most of conflicts that UN handle after cold war ended is shown increasing amount. According to the data from article said that the Security Council authorized a total of 20 new operations between 1989 and 1994, raising the number of peacekeepers from 11, 000 to 75, 000. The number of UN peacekeeping operation is shown a drastic improvement number due to complexity of conflict. United Nation conducted a multidimensional and complicated task as a safeguard in order to keep the world safe. In the first operation of UN peacekeeping it was plain to see that the military personnel become main focus to handle conflict. Take the example ONUSAL (UN Observer mission in El Salvador). Although at the beginning the conflict could handle easily by military personnel, but in fact the problem was more complicated. In the period of reassessment (mid 1990s) UN found difficulties in handling multidimensional conflict in Somalia (UNOSOM). The conflict was failed to handle because two parties keep warring. Although the military has been exist in that conflict area but UN still could not make parties stop warring each other. UN see its limitation by this case. There were many problem that UN should review at the same time including administrators, economist, human right monitors, civil affair and governance specialist. Towards 21st new operation and new challenge, take the example of Timor leste (UNTAET). Timor leste at that time was in the process of gaining independence from Indonesia. The other example is on the Kosovo (UNMIK). UN learned to improve its safekeeping operation limit. In the case of Kosovo and East Timor, UN provided administrative aid to help this both state. UN have done hard effort to maintain and control the state during and after conflict. According to me, what UN have done for better peace in world must be appreciated highly (Nobel Prize 1988). Without the existence of UN as international organization, citizen will never feel live as comfortable as now. There will be many innocent victims caused by civil war. Even though at several case of operations UN stuck in its limits but in general its contribution influence to world is significant. UN can be best mediator in peace negotiation, its role ensure balance service in short or long term condition in many countries.