Would a single, universal language be a good or bad thing?

There are hundreds of various nations around the globe which have their own, unique language. Most of these languages are not widely-spread, however, some of them used internationally. While there are some strong arguments supporting the idea of a single language, there are also some disadvantages of this. The usage of a universal language can make communication between nations much easier and convenient. There were numerous cases of countries being unable to communicate and cooperate due to language barriers. Furthermore, there will be no need to spend resources and time on translation services as a single language will be used. For instance, in 2020, the Department of International Cooperation spent almost 25% of its budget on translation services. In addition, another advantage of having a single language is that travelling around the globe will be more comfortable for people. Travellers will have an ability to visit any country, without a fear of not being able to communicate with locals. However, on the flipside, a single, universal language will cause the assimilation of the nations and the disappearance of the cultures. The language is an extremely vital part of any culture, its disappearance will change the nation significantly. There is no cultural diversity in the world with a single, global language. Moreover, culture is one of the main things that attract tourists, and its disappearance will affect the tourism industry negatively. For instance, many African countries lost their culture due to British Empire’s colonization and spread of English. To conclude, the number of languages and cultures is impressively huge. While the big portion of those languages is not widely-spread, some of them are used in many countries. This essay discussed the merits of having a global language, and its dangers. In my opinion, having a global language will be extremely beneficial for society nowadays.