Science will soon result in people living to an average of 100 years or more. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In today’s modern era, science has advanced to the heights beyond imagination. In recent times it is being said that medical science might be successful in developing a formula to prolong average life span of human beings to about 100 years. Some think this will be a great achievement, others however feel that this might lead to serious consequences in future. In my opinion, if humankind can achieve this challenging task of altering the natural way a human age it would be the biggest achievement in history of human kind. One reason this might be beneficial for us would be that space travel would become less troublesome in many ways. For example if humans can delay their aging process to an average of 100 or more years. It would be easy for scientist to send humans on voyages to different star systems or some extra-terrestrial world as they are light years away so it would take a lot of years to complete the voyage. Secondly body’s immune system would be a lot stronger to live that long which will save us from many deadly diseases caused by different viruses or bacteria or even cancer. However, there might be the problem of over population that scientist might have to tackle if life expectancy increases which might result in shortage of land, food and also put a lot of strain on natural resources. In conclusion, I would say that if scientist can increase the human life expectancy it would have massive impact on the future of humankind solving very many problems and also creating new ones.