World population is growing at an exponential rate which needs more land to accommodate the housing needs of the rising population. How do we obtain land required for development? Some governments proposed to turn recreational area for residential development, better land-use planning is resulted. To a large extent, I strongly disagree with this view.

Parks provide a great opportunity for citizens to enjoy themselves after work. The park is a place for a picnic, a walk, play with children, etc. Studies also reveal that there is a positive relationship between time spent in park and stress level. More the time an individual spent in the park, the stress levels decreases. A person can breathe some fresh air which foster blood circulation and the chances of stress-related diseases like anxiety will be reduced. In addition, a free open space encourages citizens to exercise. we can bring our friends and families and enjoy sports during weekends. These activities also boost social interaction as well. Trees in the park are also good for the environment as well. Combustion engines on motor vehicles release toxic chemicals such as carbon dioxide and nitrite oxides. These greenhouse gases will give rise to global warming. Humans may also breathe in these harmful gases through our respiratory system, the possibility of lung cancer increases. However, trees are also to capture these materials and release oxygen through photosynthesis. Hence, trees in parks are able to combat climate change and ensure the well-being of citizens. In conclusion, we should not compromise parks with land for housing. Parks have shown offering health and environmental benefits. City planners should look for alternative solution to increase the housing supply for example by reclamation to increase land for development.