What should I start doing in my twenties so I have nothing to regret at 40?

Let’s me tell you a story. I started working in a tech company on my early 20s, I am 39 years old now. In the corporate world, people move from one department to another and their salary most of the time go up. That was my case, my salary increased average yearly. As a young professional, without experience on taxes, the social media did not exist and zero investment I was happy to buy things that did not add value to me. I had two pickup truck, after a year, I sold them, and I bought the most expensive. That was a terrible idea. I learned that we bought those stuff to show that we are successful. After spending a lot of money helping my family, party out with my friends. At the age of 31, I stopped and told myself, “let’s me put money on blocks and bars”. My down payment was the value of my truck. At this moment, I am paying my apartment slow. However, if I had someone to advise me about investment or how to spend money. I will have different history. It does not mean you do not have to enjoy your life but caution.