World at the end of the twentieth century

At the end of the twentieth-century Cold War had changed the world much to the how America wanted. The world had become more in line with America’s values. As the leading military force of the world, America influenced many nations around the world. But Europe was the most influenced because of their closeness to America as their allies. More and more American values entered and influenced the life of Europeans. So much was this influence that Europe, the center of the world not so long ago, started to imitate America in many ways. In militarization to architecture, Europe started to look like America in many aspects. I think this change in the importance of America was mainly because of their military power. America said to its allies that it will save them and protect them from harm. Europe accepted this and connections between them greatly increased. In trade and other areas of life American and European culture mingled with each other. But as the leading force of the allies, America benefitted from this relationship most. More and more Europe started to look up to America as a hero and saw how democracy was implemented. They imitated their systems and tried to catch up with them. So America gained more recognition around the world and Europe started to be a follower, not the leader anymore. Europe wanted peace and prosperity so they followed America and sought their future with them. With this change, Europe’s importance transferred to America as the new center of the world.